Listen to the best free Christian music radio online or with Alexa

Switchfoot Biography

Switchfoot is a Grammy-winning alternative rock band from San Diego, California, United States. The band was formed in 1996 with the brothers Jon Foreman (lead singer/guitarist) and Tim Foreman (bass). Long-time friend Chad Butler (drums) joined soon after. Eventually the band evolved to what it is today with the addition of members Jerome Fontamillas (key/guitar/electronics - formerly of Mortal and Fold Zandura) and Drew Shirley (guitar - formerly of All Together Separate).

Although the band started out playing at Christian music festivals, they shun the label of "Christian rock," with singer and guitarist Jon Foreman saying, "For us, it's a faith, not a genre. We've always been very open and honest about where the songs are coming from. For us, these songs are for everyone. Calling us `Christian rock' tends to be a box that closes some people out and excludes them. And that's not what we're trying to do. Music has always opened my mind -- and that's what we want." They started out on Charlie Peacock's label "re:think" and spent several years appearing at Christian festivals and enjoying Christian radio hits. Most of their early tours were with Christian bands and both of the band's new members were borrowed from Christian bands.

Switchfoot did not see success outside of the Christian rock scene until they were featured alongside singer Mandy Moore on the A Walk To Remember soundtrack. The band's first true commercial success came in 2003 with the release of their fourth major label (and first mainstream label) offering, The Beautiful Letdown. The album went on to sell more than 2 million albums and Switchfoot became the most popular rock band to be associated with Christian music.

They were featured on the British Edition of the Spiderman II soundtrack along with the likes of Taking Back Sunday and Dashboard Confessional to name a few, in 2004 with the song 'Meant To Live'.

In 2005 Switchfoot released "Nothing Is Sound". The album went gold within 3 months and received much critical acclaim.

Switchfoot's highly anticipated album, titled "Oh! Gravity." was released on December 26th, 2006.

On November 10th, 2009, Switchfoot released their first album produced under their own label, lowercase people. "Mess of Me", a single from the album released months before the CD, has enjoy chart-topping radio plays since its release.

In 2010 Switchfoot released their album, "Hello Hurricane".

Vice Verses (2011): Released on September 27, 2011. Debuted at No. 8 on the Billboard 200.

Fading West (2014): Released on January 14, 2014. Reached No. 6 on the charts. Includes singles like "Who We Are" and "Love Alone Is Worth the Fight."

Where the Light Shines Through (2016): Released on July 8, 2016. Charted at No. 10.

"You Found Me" (Single Release 2019): Released in conjunction with the film "Unbroken: Path To Redemption" as part of its soundtrack.

Native Tongue (2019): Released on January 18, 2019. Reached No. 41 on the charts.

Interrobang (2021): Released on August 20, 2021. Includes the single "I Need You (To Be Wrong)."

This Is Our Christmas Album (2022): Released on November 4, 2022. A festive collection of Christmas songs by Switchfoot.

In May 2023, to celebrate the 20th anniversary of their album The Beautiful Letdown, the band released The Beautiful Letdown (Our Version) and went on a tour playing the entire album live.

Switchfoot Message Boards Read more on User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.

Listen to Switchfoot on DOC Radio online!

Share this page:

<< Back to Christian Band & Artist Links