Listen to the best free Christian music radio online or with Alexa

Delirious? Biography

This article is about the Christian rock band, Delirious?. There are other unrelated artists that do not have the question mark: see Delirious.

Delirious? was an English Christian rock and worship band formed in 1993 in Littlehampton (UK). The lineup consisted of Martin Smith on vocals and guitar, Stuart Garrard (also known as Stu G) on guitar and backing vocals, Jon Thatcher on bass guitar, Tim Jupp on keys and piano, and Stew Smith on drums and percussion (1993-2008) and later Paul Evans on drums and percussion (2008-2009). They are perhaps best-known for their modern worship songs 'Rain Down', 'Majesty', 'Lord You Have My Heart', 'Thank You For Saving Me' and their 1995 song "I Could Sing Of Your Love Forever" which has been called a "modern worship classic"[1] and is their best known song in the United States. The band regularly led worship at Christian festivals such as Soul Survivor, as well as playing at mainstream festivals like Glastonbury.

The Band started with the name "The Cutting Edge Band", beginning life as a worship band for a youth outreach event called "Cutting Edge", instigated by the Arun Community Church in Littlehampton, West Sussex, England. Later the group made the decision to take the band full time and changed their name to "Delirious?" in 1996. They had a considerable degree of mainstream sucess for an openly Christian band. Between 1997 and 2001, the band targeted the majority of its work towards a mainstream audience, with seven singles reaching the top 40 in the UK music charts. However, between 2003 and 2009 the focus was mainly placed on the CCM market.

Stu G was the only member not related to the others by blood or marriage before drummer Stew Smith left the band. Martin, Stew, and Tim are each married to one of Jon's three sisters.

At the beginning of July 2008 the band announced that they would be splitting up to concentrate on their own things, Martin wanted to spend more time with his family and to put more work into his charity CompassionArt. They played their last concert on the 29th November 2009 at the London Hammersmith Apollo which is now available on DVD, Blu Ray and CD. A showing of the Blu Ray version with a talk from Martin Smith took place at the Leatherhead Theatre on the 22nd of April 2010 to mark the DVD release. Fans also had the chance to meet Martin Smith after the showing.

Stu G and Jon have gone on to form One Sonic Society, while Tim Jupp continues to run the Big Church Day Out Festivals. Stew Smith runs design company Smeezer and Paul Evans continues to drum for various artists.

Martin Smith has hinted that the band may reform in the future.



* 1994 - Cutting Edge 1 and 2
* 1995 - Cutting Edge 3 and 4
* 1995 - North American Edition Certified Gold Canada
* 1996 - Live & In The Can
* 1997 - King Of Fools
* 1998 - d:tour 1997 Live At Southampton
* 1999 - Mezzamorphis
* 2000 - Glo
* 2001 - Deeper
* 2001 - Audio Lessonover?
* 2002 - Touch
* 2002 - Access:d
* 2002 - Libertad
* 2003 - World Service
* 2004 - Unified Praise - with Hillsong Australia
* 2005 - The Mission Bell
* 2006 - 'Now Is The Time - Live At Willow Creek' (Live CD/DVD)
* 2008 - Kingdom of Comfort
* 2008 - My Soul Sings (Live CD/DVD)
* 2009 - History Makers: Greatest Hits
* 2009 - History Makers: Greatest Hits Limited Edition
* 2010 - Delirious? Farewell Show (Live CD/DVD/BLU RAY) RELEASE DATE: UK 19/05/2010 USA 19/06/2010

Also see or (the official unofficial site). Stu G blogs at Read more on User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.

Listen to Delirious? on DOC Radio online!

Share this page:

<< Back to Christian Band & Artist Links